mattdenisonconfused

Photography Discovery

In Photography on 02/13/2010 at 4:48 pm

So, I want to start posting ‘Photography Discoveries’ to educate myself as well as inform my readers about photographers that are long lost, up and coming, or are already all over the place.

My first ‘Photography Discovery’ is of George Platt Lynes. I came across his work in the spring on 2009 when I was at Bennington. Platt Lynes worked primarily with Town & Country, Vogue, and Harper’s Bazaar which lent his work to contain a rich American fashion aesthetic in the early to mid-20th century. A lot of Platt Lynes work is homoerotic inspired as he himself was gay (I believe I read that somewhere). My most favorite body of work he did was based on Greek Mythology, which I think, possibly, sprouted from the Greeks cultural acceptance of homosexuality. This is my favorite image from his series, which is supposed to be a half man-half deer creature (which I have failed to find the exact title for).

Unfortunately, Platt Lynes lived a very short life of 48 years due to lung cancer where he died in New York City after having destroyed much of his male nude negative collection and filing for bankruptcy twice. Despite that little sentence of negativity, Platt Lynes is by far one of my most favored photographers because of his ideas, pursuit of subject matter that was really considered very controversial during that time, lighting, and studio aesthetic.

Leave a Reply

