mattdenisonconfused

Alice in Wonderland

In Film on 03/11/2010 at 5:29 am

So, I saw Alice in Wonderland… another example of the most recent cinematic wave “3-D.” I find 3-D annoying, it’s basically a ride, a quarter billion dollar ride that is dispersed across the country and the world. Though I thought many of the scenes in Alice in Wonderland were important to it’s story… I couldn’t help but find that there were a handful of unnecessary scenes placed amongst the film to show of the most recent advancements in 3-D and digital manipulation technology.  I’m not surprised that more and more films are coming out in 3-D as film has always moved towards being more and more realistic and representative of a functional space. Film has come a long way from silent black and white pictures where it was continuously being advanced upon, sound, color, digital manipulation, and now 3-D. But anyways, Tim Burton’s latest film is worth seeing as he did express his own unique flavor to the story, but overall, the 3-D is unnecessary, it’s really just a bunch of extra fat.

  1. You know what? I couldn’t agree more. Although I admit the idea is exciting but I didn’t think it would compromise the stories of expected-to-be-great movies of this generation. Since childhood, Alice in Wonderland has always been a must-see. Now that I am 21 years old, I feel as though there is nothing more to it. Just a bunch of technical amazement. I’m having doubts now if I should even watch it. Perhaps I’ll wait for the DVD. But still, my friend told me it had too much action scenes. As a film enthusiast and a full-pledge Johnny Depp fan, I was expecting more. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this.

  2. Agreed. 3D is highly overrated and we’re going to wear it out by the end of next summer.

Leave a Reply

