Matt Denison

An Introduction

In Uncategorized on 12/17/2009 at 4:25 am

Alright, I’m going to admit, I don’t know how the fuck to keep these damn things going. I either get-

A) Just sick of the thing

or

B) Do know what the hell to write about

So I guess what I’ll admit to you, non-existent reader, that I don’t know what this blog is about. Maybe it’s a place for me to express my confusion about my life or it’s a place for me to express my confusion about photography. When I say confused, it’s not me staring blanking at life drooling because I’m an idiot, it’s me being confused because I’m scared as to which decision to make and which decision is going to be the right one. So ‘Confused Expression’ is OFFICIALLY going to be me ranting about what I want to do, how I’m going to do it, and things I find interesting along the way.

Well, a little more about me, I am a would-be-junior at Bennington College. I left five weeks before the end of term because of various issues, mostly with family, but also because I wasn’t happy. I’ve realized, in my young life of almost 21 years, that I have not discovered what truly makes me happy. So Bennington, I’m thinking, is not the answer. In the summer of 2008 I lived in Brooklyn, something WAY different than living in this small town of 500 people I am in now. When I was in Brooklyn, for that short period of three weeks time, I was happy. I was happy, I think, because I was busy, I was going on dates, I was around diversity, museums, art, and vast a difference in life in comparison to the one I was and now am again living in rural Upstate New York. So as of now I’m looking at SUNY Purchase, SVA, and Parsons (Parsons being my first choice).

For right now, I am working on project ideas. I’ve written probably six pages in notes on what I want to do with my photography (which I forgot to mention I was above). My ideas are ranging from a series titled ‘The Local Man,’ another called ‘Jailed in a Car,’ and my most recent one is based on my imagination and my constant attempt to make what I imagine a visible form of reality.

I’m also creating my own darkroom in my basement so that I can continue work when I’m at home so that it’s not only a thing that I can do when I’m at school, which otherwise feels rather limiting.

But, for now, I think this is a pretty good introduction? Well, maybe it’s actually pretty weak, but hey, I’m at least doing this.

I’m tired, there are probably several grammatical errors and spelling mistakes, I’d miss them if I looked this over anyways.

For you, my non-existent reader, I leave you with Alec Soth’s blog to look at, he’s amazing. I first saw his image titled ‘Rebbecca’ when I was a freshman at Bennington, I was so taken by it, it was probably the first photograph I had ever seen that hit me with an emotional punch. Not until my junior year did I find out who he was when I had to read his interview in Jaeger’s ‘Image Makers, Image Takers,’ since then, I’ve been obsessed. I hope the same happens to you.  http://alecsothblog.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment